Barnuppfostran/The 5 F’s of good parenting

I decided to start off discussing the topic of good parenting with a conceptual framework my mentor taught me during Child and Adolescent Psychiatry fellowship training. I don’t know if he made it up or stole it from somewhere. And I can’t claim scientific validity. I can say it is an excellent framework that uncovers most problem of parenting.

 

Fond (kärleksfull): A good parent must like their child. Notice I chose the term “like” over “love”. A parent can love their child but never display that they like them. Children respond very well to the pattern of positive attention created by fondness. “You are so smart!” “Look how cute he is!” “Can you believe how strong our son is?!” Over time, all the doting (as long as it is genuine) builds a sense of well being, self esteem, and confidence in the child and his/her abilities. From an early age, children learn to strive for these moments of parental pleasure like a gambler at a slot machine. Unfortunately, fondness comes from within and it can’t be forced or pretended. My mentor used to say that fondness is the hardest tool to give a parent.

Firm (bestämd): A good parent must not allow their fondness, insecurity, anxiety, personal life, etc overcome their ability to be firm when necessary. This generally becomes important during the time of “the terrible two’s” (when kids first learn to act out aggression) and continues on into adulthood. Being firm requires being present, aware and consistent. It involves requiring and modeling good behavior during disagreements with the child. It does not include acting out one’s own parental aggression in order to subvert the child’s will.


Flexible(flexibel): A good parent must adjust with the times. Many parents confuse being “Firm” with being rigid. Parents must be ever mindful of the child’s need to explore and develop. Every parent should know basic child developmental stages. An 11 year old and a 16 year old are vastly different in their desires and abilities. The parent must have the flexibility to positively respond to the ever-changing child.


Fun(lekfull): Parents should spend time with their children that is enjoyed by both parent and child. This is true even through the teenage years. There is always some common ground to find in which both parent and child can do activities together. When problems develop, many times this is long lost or been ignored. I have parents who do 2 hours of homework with their 7 year old everyday but haven’t done something fun with them for weeks. Children are not little adults; they need to play.

Frank(uppriktig): Parents must whenever possible be open and honest with their children. It is generally a mistake to hide problems from kids. I have found that there is an appropriate way for a parent to discuss just about any problem with a child. If a parent can not figure out the appropriate way, then that is why there are therapists to help. A parent should always lean toward honesty whenever possible. It has been my experience that children (especially teenagers) are unbelievably good at sniffing out a lie or a family “secret”. When a parent is confronted with this, the parent should model frankness. It will be reciprocated... Dr.Lacy


Kommentarer
Postat av: Paola

Hej!



En fråga bara. Är ni psykogoler, eller vad är ert yrke? Jag pluggar nämligen psykologi just nu i skolan och det är så intressant.

2008-12-03 @ 00:36:18
URL: http://paolita.blogg.se/
Postat av: Anonym

Hej, först och främst. Vilken bra idé att skapa en blogg som verkligen kan hjälpa andra människor! Sen speciellt intressant då jag har en fråga som "plågat" mig sen sommaren 2006.



Jag har sedan jag var barn, runt sju år, haft återkommande depressioner och försökte när jag var tolv år ta mitt liv första gången. Periodvis mår jag skrämmande bra, utåt sett är jag lycklig. Men hösten 2005 då en vän till min bror tog livet av sig (17 år gammal) raserades mitt liv totalt. Jag mådde redan dåligt men blev efter begravningen helt "blockad", slutade äta och gick ner 13 kilo på lite mer än två månader. Ett par månader senare försökte jag ta mitt liv, överlevde som ni märker och sen gick det väl sådär. Jag började dricka mycket sprit, lekte med killars känslor bara för att själv må bättre. Sommaren 2006 träffade jag för första gången en psykolog via min kompis som ville ha in mig direkt. Jag vägrade och flyttade hundra mil hemifrån. Jag träffade då min nv sambo och sedan dess har jag sällan varit ledsen, mått jättebra. Men är livrädd att det tar slut då han är min livlina. Psykologen menade på att jag kunde bli ännu sämre ifall jag drabbades av en ny depression då det bara blivit värre med åren. Men jag är livrädd att skaffa hjälp! jag tror stenhårt på självterapi.. Kan hon ha haft rätt? att om jag t ex blir ensam igen, kan det då leda till att min depression återkommer och att det kan bli värre än det varit? Jag är livrädd, jag har snart en universitetsutbildning och mängder av vänner.. men vet ju att en depression kan förstöra så mycket. Sen, funkar självterapi mot självmordstankar?



Långt, och kanske luddigt.. Ha det bra

2008-12-03 @ 01:06:20
Postat av: Charlotte L

Hejsan Paola,

Va kul att du gillar psykologi.Det ar intressant. Min man Ben Lacy arbetar som läkare inom psykiatrin och jag ar utbildad journalist men ar just nu mammaledig.

kul att du hittat hit :)

2008-12-03 @ 01:40:45
URL: http://askthelacys.blogg.se/
Postat av: Tindra

Hej! Hade ni inte kunnat skriva om hur man kommer över sitt ex på bästa sätt? Hur ska man göra för att orka fortsätta? Jag blev lämnad när vi hade det superbra (enligt mig) och jag älskar honom fortfarande. Det känns som att jag aldrig kommer att komma över honom:(.

2008-12-03 @ 12:58:29
Postat av: Charlotte L

Hejsan!

Tack för din fråga! Nästa vecka kommer vi att diskutera, informera och ta upp frågor om depression. Håll utkik under nästa vecka för svar.

hoppas du har en underbar dag!

/Char

2008-12-03 @ 13:13:39
URL: http://askthelacys.blogg.se/
Postat av: victor

Åldrandet är en sjukdom som beror på slarv i evolutionen och orsakar massiva organskador, lidande, förnedring och ofrivillig död.Åldrandet dödar 100 000 gamla människor varje dag,gamla människor är också människor.att vara gammal och skröplig är ohälsosamt men att vara ung och i god vigör är hälsosamt,hjälp vetenskapen besegra åldrandet annars kommer åldrandet besegra oss själva. Kolla gärna in min blogg som handlar om åldrandet :)

2008-12-03 @ 13:48:50
URL: http://victorbjoerk.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0